home‎ > ‎Reviews‎ > ‎

Reviews (2013 - 2012)

"A clean, cozy, comfortable home-away-from-home"
My elderly mother and I have stayed here twice (April 2012 and December 2013) when we were visiting Bangor for shopping, errands, and/or medical care. The owner is very welcoming; the rooms are clean (this really means something when I say it, because I'm very particular with regard to cleanliness) and comfortable. The décor is a cut above what you find at the typical motel, and there are nice little touches in the rooms like a basket with chocolate bars and coffee/tea/cocoa (even the little plastic containers of cream are arranged artistically!). The hotel is in a nice setting by the Penobscot River and there's a great breakfast place (the Eagle's Nest) nearby. It's well worth crossing the river from Bangor to stay in this lovely motel.
- Wendy, 12/10/13

"Wonderful place"
We've stayed at the Colony Motel a while back and I must say it was a wonderful experience. They made you feel welcome from the start and the place was nice and comfortable. Great service. Clean rooms.
- Margo, 10/22/13

"Great start to our vacation"
My wife and I decided to split the near 5 hour ride to Coobscook Bay in half. The Colony was right on RT 9 and we had read good things about the place. The reviews where right the onwers steve and lynn where friendly and helpful. They take you to your room show you around. Ask if you have any special needs.The rooms are fresh and clean. The bed was comfortable. It had a frig and microwave. Cable tv and Wifi. Another neat thing is a area out back where you can sit by a stream. You can't wrong staying here.
- ME Traveller, 9/18/13

"Outstanding cleanliness and hospitality"
One of the highlights of my three week vacation was finding this motel. My favorite picture, out of the 1,884 I took on vacation, is the one of the office with the slogan "Sleepy People Wanted." Everything about the motel is beautiful. The rooms are tastefully decorated. Each room has a doll and a theme. There are 14 rooms in the motel. I am looking forward to experiencing a time of rest here again. Three restaurants were recommended by the woman owner. I tried two out of three of them, and they were excellent. I cannot stress enough how clean this place is. You will be very fortunate to get a room here.
- BigFan, 9/13/13

"Feeling of home"
We have been going to the Colony Motel for along time. We keep going back because it is so inviting, the feeling of home. Lynn & Steve make you feel like you have known them like for ever. I find it very cosy even when it rains, and its the only place for us. Hope to be there again next year if not sooner.
- Albert & Judy, 9/7/13

"Delightful country home atmosphere"
My sister and I stayed here for six nights in July. The owners Lynn and Steve were most kind and attentive. Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable. Lovely touches of country décor gave a warm, caring touch. The two beds were comfortable, and we enjoyed the separate dining area with table, chairs, full size fridge and microwave. Excellent accommodations!
- Donna, 8/23/13

"Pleasant overnight stay"
I stopped here overnight on my way to Canada. An older property, but my room was quiet,clean and very comfortable. The owners were friendly, informative, and accommodating. There is a great little local restaurant about a mile away that have excellent lobster rolls.
- Robert, 8/14/13

"Very nice"
We were traveling by motorcycle in the rain and got the next to the last room available. The next morning it was still raining, the forecast said rain all day and through the night so we asked if we could stay another day. We found a few other cheaper motels on our excursion to do laundry and get some food, but I couldn't say if they were as nice as the Colony. Lynn and Steve go out of their way to make sure you have a good stay. They know the local good places to eat and sites to see (if you are not on a motorcycle in the rain!). Take the advice on the lobster roll at the Eagles Nest, it was awesome!
- Debbie, 8/10/13 

"Home away from home"
Thank you Lynn and Steve for such a "home away from home" which we truly enjoyed and appreciated. WE will definitely be back again and have been telling other family members about the friendly atmosphere and spotlessly clean rooms. It was out pleasure and made our trip a memory we will always talk about.
- Stephen & Wendy, 8/10/13

"Clean, nice stay"
We stayed one night here. It was clean, top to bottom. The owners, as everyone else said, were very kind and hospitable. It was quiet and there was a nice stream view out of our window. There was a refrigerator and microwave in our room. There was no coffee maker, but the owner left us tea, hot chocolate and mini hershey bars at night. The decor is updated yet homey. I would definitely stay here again.
- Mark, 8/5/13

"Fantastic experience, fantastic owners"
If you are ever staying in the Bangor/Brewer area look no further than the Colony Motel! Exceptionally clean, modern, spacious rooms and the most gracious hosts my wife and I have ever met while travelling. We stayed in the "Honeymoon Suite" with a separate kichen area and from the moment we arrived Lynn and Steve made our vacation memorable. This was our 20th anniversary and Lynn surprised us with a special treat when we arrived and made sure that all our needs and questions were looked after. We wouldn't hesitate to stay there again! Also do not miss eating at the Eagles Nest Restaurant just down the road for the best Lobster Rolls!
- Bilbo, 7/17/13

"Very clean rooms"
This was a lovely motel. Very clean rooms and friendly people would, recommend this place to my friends. Quiet location and not that far from Bangor. 
- June, 6/12/13

"Second to none"
Always love staying at the Colony, have been doing so for years. It is the only place in Bangor/Brewer where I will stay. The rooms are clean and wonderfully decorated. The service is fabulous and second to none. Make this your rest stop.
- Mary, 5/16/13

"Honeymoon suite-25th wedding anniversary"
We have stayed here several times and now that we know about this location we would never book anywhere else in Maine, very clean, very spacious rooms and the owers are awesome !

We stayed there on October 28 and Lynn ask what kind of room we were looking for and we were traveling with another couple but it was our 25th Wedding Anniversary and she mentioned the Honeymoon Room, very comfortable and very very clean and nice size with kitchen. Great Location and great rates!
- Christiane, 11/7/12